Published on May 5, 2015 at 10:41 / Updated on May 8, 2018 at 20:53

We’ve been hearing a lot about gluten-free diets lately. Entire supermarket shelves are devoted to gluten-free products.  But what is gluten, and should you really avoid it?

First, gluten is a type of protein mainly found in wheat, barley, and rye (and in the flours and products derived from these grains). Gluten is harmless unless you have celiac disease, a genetic autoimmune disorder in which the immune system reacts to gluten, causing damage to the lower intestine. Celiac disease can lead to digestive disorders and malabsorption, as well as a wide variety of symptoms throughout the entire body, so it is unlikely to be suspected and very difficult to diagnose. The only treatment is to avoid gluten altogether, which explains the growing interest in gluten-free products. Various grains and substitutes are available on the market, including rice, quinoa, soy, corn, flax, potatoes, legumes, and more. Avoiding gluten entirely is no simple task, and it may require the guidance of a health professional such as a registered dietician.

The drugs and pharmaceutical services featured on the website are offered by pharmacists who own the affiliated pharmacies at Familiprix. The information contained on the site is for informational purposes only and does not in any way replace the advice and advice of your pharmacist or any other health professional. Always consult a health professional before taking or discontinuing medication or making any other decision. Familiprix inc. and the proprietary pharmacists affiliated with Familiprix do not engage in any way by making this information available on this website.